Tags

Yes, you read that correctly. It reads “Unicorns and Butt Cheeks”.  Let me explain.

A couple of weeks ago, the kids and I were chilling on the couch. We were “between” activities so I had a few moments to spare. We started talking about China – things to see, places to go, words to learn…  We went on to discuss the Chinese language and how difficult it is to learn to speak. They will take Mandarin classes daily at school and I know they will have an easier time learning the language than I will. I asked my son (7)  if there were any words he wanted to learn in Chinese now – before we moved there. He thought and thought and came up with a few. The first was “butt cheek”. (Yes, I know that’s two words, but cut me some slack. I faked him out with the word for “buttocks” instead.)

Butt cheek: Tunbu (Sounds like: twen-boo) I don’t know how to make the correct accent marks over the letters. I’m working on that.

The second word, which was also very important to my girls, was “unicorn”. Why? Why not. Here you go:

Unicorn: Du jiao shou (Sounds like: do-jao-show)

There was one more word they wanted to know. I’ll let you guess what it is – it has four letters. It starts with a “p” and ends with a “p”. He’s seven. Figure it out.

Mystery word:  p*&p  – chaunwei (Sounds like: chun-way)

We really do learn something new every day. You just did. Even if you didn’t want to.

